Latest Posts


Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Commemorative Stamp on Dr. B.R. Ambedkar released

A Commemorative Stamp on Dr. B.R. Ambedkar was released jointly by the Minister Social Justice & Empowerment Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot and Union Minister for Communication & Information Technology Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad here today. This was part of 125th Birth Anniversary celebrations.

The Prime Minister chaired the first meeting of the National Committee on Nationwide Celebration of 125th Birth Anniversary of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar on the 23rd July 2015. The objective of year long celebrations is to make the world aware about the life and the work of Dr. Babasaheb Ambekdar as a champion of the underprivileged.

Speaking on the occasion the Minister for Social Justice & Empowerment Shir Thaawar Chand Gehlot said that the Government has taken up a number of programmes and is organizing various activities on the 125th Birth Anniversary celebrations wherein a tableau on Dr. Ambedkar would be part of the 26th January celebration, 100 students will be sent to Columbia University and London School of Economics for study tour, Dr. Ambedkar Memorial at 26 Alipur Road, Delhi will be developed in a befitting manner. The village Ambadve in Ratnagiri District (Maharashtra), to which the parents of Dr. Ambedkar belonged will be developed as a Model Village under PMAGY Scheme (Adarsh Gram). He further added that the life and works of Dr. Ambedkar is an inspiration to the millions.

Speaking on the occasion Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad, Minister for Communication & Information Technology said Dr. Ambedkar was the chief architect our constitution and was in 1990 bestowed with Bharat Ratna. The Department of Posts is happy to issue a commemorative postage stamp on this occasion. He was also a champion of fundamental rights.

Present on the occasion were Shri Krishan Pal Gurjar, MoS, SJE, Shri Vijay Sampla, MoS, SJE, Secretary, Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities Shri Lov Verma, Addl. Secretary, SJE Shri Arun Kumar and Member (Planning), Department of Post Shri S.K. Sinha and other officials / officers of the Ministry and Ambedkar Foundation.

Source : PIB

No comments:

Post a Comment