Latest Posts


Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Amendments in the Central List of Other Backward Classes notified in respect of sixteen States

The Union Cabinet today gave its approval for notifying changes in the existing Central lists of OBCs.
The National Commission for Backward Classes advised the Central Government for amendment in the Central list of Other Backward Classes (OBCs) for the States of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand and West Bengal and Union Territories of Andaman & Nicobar, Chandigarh, Delhi and Puducherry.
Accordingly, the Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment would make amendments in the Central lists of OBCs in respect of these States and UTs. Inclusion of these castes/communities in the Central list of OBCs would enable them to avail the benefits of reservation in Central Government services and posts as well as admissions in the Central educational institutions, thus contributing to the goal of equity and inclusiveness.
Source : PIB Release, November 16, 2011

No comments:

Post a Comment