Latest Posts


Sunday, November 6, 2011

Orissa now becomes Odisha; Oriya becomes Odia

Bhubaneswar: Orissa has been renamed Odisha after President Pratibha Patil approved the State Assembly's 2008 resolution. 
 The language Oriya will now be called Odia.
Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has declared a holiday on Saturday to mark this 'historic' date.
"To celebrate this historic decision, Saturday will be a holiday for all schools, all colleges and all state government offices in Odisha," Patnaik said.
Sweets were distributed among those present at the celebrations, organised at short notice following instruction from Patnaik.
Earlier an unanimous resolution was passed in the state assembly for change in the name of the state from Orissa to Odisha in 2008 which received the nod of both the houses of Parliament in 2010.
The President's assent and notification was issued on Friday.
The state which was formed on linguistic basis on April 1, 1936, was known as Orissa and its language was Oriya since then.
Courtesy :

No comments:

Post a Comment