Latest Posts


Monday, December 17, 2012

Eligibility Condition for Disability Pension

Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS) is a component of National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP). Under IGNDPS, central assistance of Rs. 300 p.m. per beneficiary is provided to persons with severe or multiple disabilities in the age group of 18-79 years and belonging to a household living below poverty line (BPL) as per criteria prescribed by Government of India.

Working Group on "Empowerment of persons with Disabilities" for the formulation of XIIth Five Year Plan suggested coverage of all persons with disabilities under IGNDPS and grant of pension @ Rs. 500 p.m. to person with disability and Rs. 1000 p.m. to person with severe and multiple disability.

A committee was constituted under the Chairmanship of Additional Secretary, Department of Rural Development, Ministry of Rural Development, to make recommendations on the criteria for grant of benefits under various schemes of National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP). The Committee has submitted its report in the last week of October 2012. The Committee has made similar recommendation regarding relaxation of disability percentage from 80% to 40% and pension @ Rs. 500/-p.m for person with disability and Rs. 1000/-p.m. for person with severe and multiple disabilities. Committee has also recommended to include specifically autism and cerebral palsy which are mentioned in National Trust Act under IGNDPS. No decision has been taken so far.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment, Shri D. Napoleon in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha today. 
Source: PIB, 17 Dec, 2012

No comments:

Post a Comment