Latest Posts


Friday, August 22, 2014

Stamps on the Indian Musicians will be released on 3rd September 2014

Indian Classical Music
Music is an art of sound in time that expresses ideas and emotions in significant forms through the elements of rhythms, melody, harmony and color. Two main traditions of Indian Music are Carnatic Music and Hindustani Music.
Hindustani Classical Music is found throughout North India and is sometimes called North Indian Classical Music or Shastriya Sangeet. It is a mixture of traditional Hindu musical concepts and Persian performance practice.
Carnatic Classical Music is found in southern part of the Indian sub-continent in the four modern states of India i.e. Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamilnadu. It is also known as Karnataka Sangeetham. Vocal music is the main emphasis of Carnatic music , where most compositions are written to be sung.
India Post has tried to capture the essence of the Indian Classical Music from time to time through its postage stamps. India Post will shortly release a set of 8 Commemorative Postage Stamps recognizing the contributions of eight doyens of Indian Classical Music.

No comments:

Post a Comment