Latest Posts


Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Passenger Reservation System in Indian Railways

Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Railways
27-April-2016 16:15 IST

Passenger Reservation System in Indian Railways

At present, computerised reservation facility is available at approximately 3337 reservation centers, which are working satisfactorily. Till March 2016, 134 Yatri Ticket Suvidha Kendra (YTSK) licensees have been engaged. They are also working satisfactorily. Next Generation e-Ticketing (NGET) which was launched on 28.04.2014, now has a capacity of booking 15000 tickets per minute and is working satisfactorily.

Adequate safeguards have been kept in the computerised Passenger Reservation System (PRS) and internet booking system to prevent its misuse by unscrupulous elements.

For the benefit of different categories of travelling public, the Railways have introduced ticketing facilities at Non-Railhead locations and India Post Offices so that the ticketing system can be accessed by people living in smaller towns and villages. This is in addition to e-ticketing which provides access to reservation system from the comfort of the home/office.

In addition to the provisions made in the computerised PRS and internet ticketing system to prevent misuse of reserved ticketing system, various other steps have been taken, some of which are as under: (i) Condition of carrying original proof of identity by any one passenger booked on a reserved ticket. (ii) Agents are debarred from booking tickets during first thirty minutes of opening of booking, i.e., from 0800 to 0830 hours for general booking, 1000 to 1030 hours and 1100 to 1130 hours for Tatkal booking on AC class and Non-AC class respectively. (iii) In case of booking of reserved tickets through internet, only one booking in one user login session except for return/onward journey between 0800 and 1200 hours. (iv) The monthly limit of booking of tickets through internet by an individual user has now been revised to 6 tickets in a month instead of 10 tickets.

This Press Release based on information given by the Minister of State for Railways Shri Manoj Sinha in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha on 27.04.2016 (Wednesday). 

No comments:

Post a Comment