Latest Posts


Monday, June 27, 2011

Sibal Presents Meghdoot Awards 2009 and 2010 to Postal Employees - Fifteen Individuals Bag Awards, Five of them are Women - Best Post Office Award goes to Chandragiri Head Post Office, Andhra Pradesh

Sh. Kapil Sibal Minster of Communications & Information Technology and Human Resource Development today conferred the Meghdoot Awards here today to the postal employees. Speaking on the occasion Shri Sibal said that skill and capacity of 3.25 lakh Gramin Dak Sewaks will be developed through a comprehensive and time bound Rural Entrepreneurship Programme.This program is being finalized by Department of Posts and Ministry of Human Resource Development together. Congratulating the Awardees, the Minister expressed confidence in the ongoing transformation projects that will help India Post to match the changing technologies and evolving lifestyles and serve their customers better. 
Addressing the gathering Shri Gurudas Kamat, Minister of State of Communications & Information Technology and Human Affairs emphasized the importance of role of Post Offices in the implementation of the schemes meant for common man, be it disbursement of wages, pension or Unique Identification Number.
This  scheme of National awards known as ‘Meghdoot Awards’ was instituted in the year 1984  to provide encouragement  to  the postal employees by recognizing performance of high standard.  The awards given for outstanding contribution in the sphere of official work were earlier given in six individual categories. In order to motivate the personnel in the field of technology, a new category i.e., “For Technology Excellence” was introduced for the year 2006. For the years 2009 and2010 another category viz. “Best Woman Employee” has since been introduced for the first time. Thus in all eight categories of awards are being conferred in individual category. An award in Group Category comprising trophy was also given for best post office Chandragiri Head Post Office, Andhra Pradesh. Meghdoot awardees in individual category were given a medal, a scroll and cash award of Rs. 11000 (Rupees eleven thousand).
The awards are given every year to the officials selected from amongst the nominations received from various postal circles.
Names of awardees of Meghdoot Awards 2009 & 2010
Individual Category:
Category names & eligible cadres
For the Year 2009
For the year 2010
All Gramin Dak Sewak.
Shri Ramesh Duarah, Gramin Dak Sewak BPM, Assam Circle.
Shri Yashmel Singh, Gramin Dak Sewak BPM, Himachal Pradesh Circle.
All erstwhile Group ‘D’ Staff since upgraded as Group ‘C’ including Jamadars in the Postal/RMS and MMS wings and Postman including Mail Overseers/ Cash Overseers/ Head Postman and Sorting Postman and Mailguards/ Mailman, etc. including similar levels in RMS, MMS and Administrative offices.
Smt. Swarna Devi Postman, J&K Circle
Shri Yadati Murali Krishna Prasad, Postman, Andhra Pradesh Circle
Postal Assistants/ Sorting Assistants doing operative work including SPMs in charge of single-handed Post Office and similar levels and Stenographers Grade II, II&I.
Shri Yoginder Singh Kanwar, Postal Assistant, Himachal Pradesj Circle
Shri Ranjit Baishya, Postal Assistant, Assam Circle.
The general Line Supervisor cadre in all wings up to and including HSG-I.
Smt. N. Anuradha, Sorting Assistant, Karnataka Circle
Shri Bishnupada Dash, SPM, Orissa Circle
Inspectors of posts and Assistant Superintendents of Posts in all Wings. Junior Engineers working in Civil and Electrical Wings; Assistant Account Officers working in Accounts Wing;.
Shri. S.N. Dhoundiyal, Assistant Superintendent of Post Offices, Delhi Circle
Shri Ravi Prakash Dewa, Assistant Superintendent of Post Offices, Gujarat Circle
All Gr. ‘B’ and Gr. ‘A’  officers up to Senior Time Scale in the Department of Posts including Foreign Posts, Postal  Stores Depot, Central Stamp Depot and Printing Press and Private Secretaries; Accounts Officers , Senior Account Officers working in Accounts Wing; Assistant Engineers working in Civil and Electrical  Wings
Smt. R.P. Chitra Devi, Assistant Postmaster General, Tamil Nadu Circle.
Technology Excellence (All cadres upto Senior Time Scale)
Shri Amir Kharkongor, Postal Assistant, North East Circle
Shri Korrapati Ravi Babu, Assistant Director General, Directorate
Best Woman Employee (All Women officials upto Group ‘B’ officers
Smt. S.Jeyarubah Ruth Ebenezer, Postal Assistant, Tamil Nadu Circle
Smt. Chintapalli Radhakrishna Veni, Mail Overseer, Andhra Pradesh Circle.

2. Group Category:
Best Post Office Award                          Chandragiri Head Office, Andhra Pradesh
Source: PIB Release, June 27, 2011 

No comments:

Post a Comment