Latest Posts


Monday, December 30, 2013

‘Mee Seva’ services through post offices from New Year

13 new post offices to be opened in the State, including three in Vijayawada region

India Post will start extending ‘Mee Seva’ services through 2,437 post offices in Andhra Pradesh from February 2014. The project was successfully implemented on a pilot basis in 95 post offices across the State.
Citizens can avail of the entire gamut of 177 types of services which Mee Seva centers are currently rendering, through their neighbourhood post offices from the New Year, Chief Post Master General (A.P Circle) B.V. Sudhakar announced at a press conference here on Friday.
Another significant initiative is the opening of 13 new post offices in the State including three in Vijayawada region: two in Krishna district with one at Tadigadapa and the other one in Umamaheswarapuram village in Bapulapadu mandal and at Perecherla in Guntur district.
Mr. Sudhakar said that Rs. 10,624 crore was disbursed to 1.50 crore beneficiaries of MGNREGS through their post office accounts since February 2006. Payment of wages under the Central government’s flagship scheme was being made under the Direct Benefit Transfer scheme in 14 districts in the State.
Pack post scheme
The Pack Post scheme is a facility through which customers can get their international parcels containing items as diverse as pickles and televisions, neatly packed in the post offices for charges ranging from Rs.50 to Rs.275. Professional packing of parcels has been necessitated by damages and other difficulties in delivering them. In Vijayawada region, this service is available only at Buckinghampet post office.
The Mobile Money Order Transfer and Instant Money Order services have drawn encouraging response from the customers. ‘Uttaram Vacchindi’ and ‘Meeru Meedabbu’ schemes under which customers can keep track of their transactions (both deposits and withdrawals) and business mail through mobile phones (numbers have to be registered through e-mail: evoked tremendous response. These schemes are specific to Andhra Pradesh.
Director of Postal Services K. Somasundaram and Post Master General (Vijayawada region) M. Sampath were present.

No comments:

Post a Comment